Shinbone Alley the Musical Lyrics

Shinbone Alley, a musical theatre adaptation of the Don Marquis "archy and mehitabel" stories, was a natural extension of the popular recording (featuring Eddie Bracken and Carol Channing giving voice to the endearing cockroach and cat, with music by George Kleinsinger and lyrics by Joe Darion). The recording was so successful that the writers thought a full-scale Broadway musical of their work would be greeted with open arms and glowing reviews. Shinbone Alley was greeted alright, but the reception was decidedly lukewarm. The show folded after 49 performances.

1957 Broadway
Shinbone Alley the Musical Songs with Lyrics

Act I

1. What Do We Care?
2. Toujours Gai
3. Queer Little Insect
4. Big Bill
5. True Romance
6. The Lightning Bug Song
7. I Gotta Be
8. Dog And Cat Ballet
9. Flotsam and Jetsam
10. Come to Mee-ow
11. Suicide Song
12. Shinbone Alley

Act II

1. The Moth Song
2. Vacant Lot Ballet
3. A Woman Wouldn't Be A Woman
4. The Lullaby
5. Mehitabel's A House Cat
6. Pretty Kitty
7. Be a Pussycat
8. The Lady Bug Song
9. Flotsam and Jetsam (Reprise)
10. Shinbone Alley Finale

Title Filter     Display # 
# Article Title
1 Toujours Gai Lyrics
2 A Woman Wouldn't Be A Woman Lyrics