Zorba the Musical Songs Lyrics

Zorba is a musical with a book by Joseph Stein, lyrics by Fred Ebb, and music by John Kander. Adapted from the 1946 novel Zorba the Greek by Nikos Kazantzakis and the subsequent 1964 film of the same name, it focuses on the friendship that evolves between Zorba and Nikos, a young American who has inherited an abandoned mine on Crete, and their romantic relationships with a local widow and a French woman, respectively.

The musical premiered on Broadway in 1968 in a production directed by Harold Prince. The original production ran for 305 performances, and a 1983 Broadway revival ran for 362 performances with a cast starring Anthony Quinn.


The story follows Zorba as he talks his way into traveling with Nikos, a young American who has inherited an abandoned mine on Crete. Eventually, Zorba falls in love with a French woman, Hortense. Meanwhile, Nikos falls in love with The Widow. Tragedy ensues when Zorba loses all of his money to a belly dancer. Further, a mentally unstable man, Pavli, commits suicide after witnessing Nikos and the Widow together. Then, a member of Pavli's family murders The Widow.

1983 Broadway revival
Zorba the Musical Songs with Lyrics

Act I

1. Life Is
2. The First Time
3. The Top of the Hill
4. No Boom Boom
5. Vive La Difference
6. Mine Song
7. The Butterfly
8. Goodbye, Canavaro
9. Grandpapa
10. Only Love
11. The Bend of the Road
12. Only Love (Reprise)

Act II

1. Yassou
2. Woman
3. Why Can't I Speak
4. That's a Beginning
5. Easter Dance
6. Miner's Dance
7. The Crow
8. Happy Birthday
9. I Am Free
10. Life Is (Reprise)

Title Filter     Display # 
# Article Title
1 Life Is Lyrics
2 The First Time Lyrics
3 The Top of the Hill Lyrics
4 No Boom Boom Lyrics
5 The Butterfly Lyrics
6 Goodbye, Canavaro Lyrics
7 Grandpapa Lyrics
8 Only Love Lyrics
9 Yassou Lyrics
10 Why Can't I Speak Lyrics
11 The Crow Lyrics
12 I Am Free Lyrics